see moon

Tonight is a full moon. As I was walking home from my Georgian dance class (yes, I’m taking Georgian dance lessons and it’s going well, thanks for asking, and I’ll tell you more about it soon!) I looked up and was nearly blinded by the little fella up there in the sky. So I took a picture. Here it is:

It was very bright, as you can tell by that giant lens flare that I don’t have the Photoshop skills to remove.

And isn’t it neat that I’m all the way over here in Georgia and you, Dear Reader, might be thousands of miles away, but we share this moon. It’s just like Fievel sang about┬áthat one time.

(sigh)

As I was doing some internet research to make sure that it was definitely a full moon tonight, I came across an interesting piece of information. Did you know that full moons have names. It’s true. And guess what tonight’s is called. No, seriously, guess. I’ll give you a minute or two to come up with something good.

Ready? Did you guess Beaver Moon?! If so, then you win nothing but the satisfaction of being right; but that is still a very nice prize. Yes, tonight is the Full Beaver Moon.

(Is that funny? I don’t even know why that would be funny.)

According to the Farmer’s Almanac, the full moon in November is so named because…

This was the time to set beaver traps before the swamps froze, to ensure a supply of warm winter furs. Another interpretation suggests that the name Full Beaver Moon comes from the fact that the beavers are now actively preparing for winter. It is sometimes also referred to as the Frosty Moon.

So be sure to set your beaver traps, folks. Winter is a-coming.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “see moon

  1. Colleen

    Preston loves the moon! He looks for it every time we are outside. He can only say “moo” (he leaves off the endings of a many words) but it reminded me of the story of baby Kelley saying “see moon see moon”. I watched the moon on my drive to school. It was huge!

    • Aww, he sounds like a little cow! “Mooooo!” I love it.

      • it is very cute to listen to Preston try to talk. I was attempting to get him to call me The Uncle all week however my dream did not come true. Hopefully next time i see him he’ll have The Uncle down and we can move on to more important words like Pittsburg sucks. After that is only a matter of time before i can take him fishing for some Ohio Walleyes, i can’t wait.

  2. Pingback: Circled Orb | nomadicmainstream

Leave a Reply

